“Rise up my love, my fair one, and come away.”

English: The Song of Songs (1853) by Gustave M...

(Song of Solomon 2:10)

He is risen,
I am risen in Him,
why then should I
cling to the dust?
From lower loves,

desires, pursuits,
and aspirations, I
would rise
towards Him.
He calls me

by the sweet title
of “My love,”

He calls me.
“Come away” has no
harsh sound in it
to my ear, for
what is there to hold me

in this wilderness of
vanity and sin?
O my Lord, would that
I could come away,
but I am taken–among the thorns!

and cannot escape
from them as I would.
I would, if it were
possible, have neither
eyes, nor ears, nor heart for sin.

You call me to yourself
by saying “Come away,”
and this is a melodious
call indeed. To come to you
is to come home from exile,

to come to land out of the
raging storm,
to come to rest after long labor,

My Lord, Save Me  From the Maze o' Shadows  an...

My Lord, Save Me From the Maze o’ Shadows and Songs….. (Photo credit: -RejiK)

to come to the goal of my desires
and the summit of my wishes.

But Lord, how
can a stone rise,
how can a lump of clay
come away from
the horrible pit?

O raise me, draw me.
Your grace can do it.
Send forth your Holy Spirit
to kindle sacred flames
of love in my heart,

and I will continue
to rise until
I leave life and time
behind me,
and indeed come away.

( Adapted  from Spurgeon’s  “Morning by Morning” — 4/25)

Explore posts in the same categories: C.H. Spurgeon's Poetry Slam, Comfort for the Anxious and Depressed

Tags: , ,

You can comment below, or link to this permanent URL from your own site.

Leave a Reply

